Seismic Stations

Seismic waveform data from 9 seismic stations across 6 provinces and territories of Canada were analyzed to measure reductions in anthropogenic noises during the COVID-19 lockdown. The seismic stations are part of the Canadian National Seismograph Network (CNSN) operated by the government agency – Natural Resources of Canada or are run by Canadian Universities.

The selection of the seismic stations were based on three criteria:

  1. Located within 50 km of a major Canadian city to record anthropogenic noises
  2. Actively collecting data from before and during the COVID-19 lockdown
  3. Data is available online, free of charge, and in real-time

The seismic waveform data for these seismic stations are available as Mini Standard for the Exchange of Earthquake Data (mSEED) files from the Incorporated Research Institutions for Seismology (IRIS) website.